THE TS-590S review, story and detailed information... 

Now with a chain of events up to: 6/25/13
The choice was made 2/03/2012 (The purchase is not about price, there is a lot more to consider)
The new radio has arrived 2/16/2012 (I look over the manual and do some listening)
The firm-ware update 2/17/2012 (Time to start transmitting and setting up the amplifier)

Getting used to the menus and buttons 2/18/2012 (The 590 is easier to use than the TS-2000)
I finally get back to this project
3/07/2012 (The mysterious "service menu")
The girls are complaining again...I don't know why 3/10/12 (ALC over-shoot - HUH)
Get the real information here 5/2/2012 "What not to do in the 590 service menu"
The ARCP remote operation, setup tutorial 3/16/2012 (Setting up the 590 on a local network) (TBC)
    
 
NOW WITH DETAILS FOR USING RDP AND THE WYSE V90L THIN CLIENT. (7/2/13)
I have acquired (sold) an FT-1000. I will make comparisons 5/5/2012 (the 590 is a better receiver)
I revisit the "service menu". There a few cautions to be noted. 5/19/2012
I wrap up the review with my 6 months comments. 8/3/12
I have added an external EQ for received audio. The Zeitnitz Sound Card Oscilloscope 1/24/13
Back to the future...more information regarding the use of the 590 EQ 6/24/13
My 590 user notes and download links   
(There are some new tips available to review)
The Last Word regarding the TS-590S 3/10/14

I am done here, let me close and move on...

   Well I finally managed to save all my dollars (1600 of them) and bought the Kenwood TS-590S. This will be my last radio purchase (new radio out of the box) that I will make. I do buy used radios and save them from final fate, but this has been a year long saving adventure, that fluctuated back and forth until I finally reached the purchase price. And yes, it is on my Birthday week that the radio will arrive. I will turn 69 and celebrate my 55th year in Ham Radio. Wow, 55 years...did I actually survive that long??
   Anyway, this is not about me but about a venture into the unknown. No this is not some 10 grand radio that has more bells and whistles than one of those 7000 series rice boxes. This is the staple of all moderate conservative radio amateurs. This can be likened to buying a TS-520 or a new TS-180S back in the Carter years. This technology is very different. This is the first "real" step toward high end digital enhanced IF, AGC and signal processing. A true connection between the computer and the radio. This is not SDR. it is SCR and "software controlled" is as good as it gets because the "590" is a radio and not a box that is dependent on processor speed. Yes, I have an I7 CPU in my computer, but the "590" does not care. It does it's thing while I control it's functions, not process them and there in lies the key to this review. This rendering is all about the preparation I took before I made the purchase, and includes the first contact I (will) make with the radio and those results. I will cover the "bells and whistles", the interfacing and the software needed to be successful. I will also give a short but precise review for those who simply want the TS-590 and care less about "software control", and more about making the contact.
  
   I purchased my TS-590 from HRO. That is not an endorsement, I bought my TS-2000 from them and several other devices as well; so I naturally asked the same question you would..."What kind of price break are you giving me today?" I took advantage of HRO's "match the competition" policy. I must say I love the free-market when it is allowed to operate properly. I had to sell two of my favorite radios to get the "590". My TS-530SP and my TS-180S are now in the hands of a new user. I sold them at a fair price, and these were great radios, but they were old radios and it was time I moved on, so I moved out the all analog shack and replaced it with another digital enhanced transceiver. I will back up my "590" with my 14 month old "2000", they will look great together and I still have my VHF-UHF capabilities.

Update 5/10/12 ~ I purchased a used FT-1000. This radio has a few issues, but I will get the damn thing going sooner or later. Oh yeah, I won a Kenwood TM-261 at a hamfest, I previously used the TS-2000 on 2 meter FM, but I got lucky...another Kenwood in the shack. Just to keep you up to date, 6 months later...I sold the FT-1000 simply because the TS-590 is a better radio, and 200 watts of RF seems pitiful when the 590 drives my Henry 2K by five times the power...life is too short for QRP. You can't be a wimp on 75 meter SSB.

Update: 5/15/12 ~ This is one great radio. I cannot tell you if the unit is worse or better compared to an FT-DX5000 or a K3, (I never operated one) but I know that dollar vs. dollar, the TS-590 is a great investment, even as a second radio it out performs many in a higher price category. In it's own class, it is a winner that you will certainly enjoy. If the 990 performs as well or better, it will certainly be widely accepted. Unfortunately, I can't afford one. Oh yeah, receiver vs. receiver, the TS-590 does do a better over all job when compared to the FT-1000D. The 1000 was and still is the classic main stay of the Yaesu line. On my bench, the TS-590 is a dwarf...but a giant killer, even if the giant is 20 years older.
Listen, when I tell you I hear better than many others, my antenna could be a factor as well. You cannot tell me your G5RV mini is not a compromise; and that means any radio from 400 or 14,000 dollars. My TS-450 hears better than my neighbors IC-7700, but he uses an OCF dipole. I ask you...oranges or grapefruit, which one has the most usable juice??

2/03/12 ~ I sold the TS-2000 today!!! The 590 simply made no sense of keeping it. Maybe I will buy me a FLEX, or a TS-450/690, or maybe not!
   The "590" has a distinct TS-2000 look and feel, but the box is not quite as "ugly" as the "2000". My first TS-2000 introduced me to "less knob" radio, not knob-less, I said less knobs; like I was missing all those knobs that gathered dust. The ones that no one uses unless they have to, and that is the point of menu driven radios, most of those knobs are used one time and forgotten. They are better off as a process control. Only a few knobs are actually turned more than one time during any communication event, so why all the clutter on the front panel. Let's not even consider the dirty pot scenario. Use them or lose them is the issue...
   It was about 1 year ago that the buzz was up in the air about new radios. The TS-590S was getting some attention and I took notice. I did listen for them on the air and had to say it sounded like a Kenwood. I have only 1 good ear, so what I hear is not worth the damn...if I can listen to a station and not strain my ear(s), I am a happy Ham. If I listen to CW, the note has to be above 700 Hz but below 1500 in order to be intelligent. I chose the TS-2000 because it had some flexible filtering (DSP) that allowed me to tailor the audio. I noticed that the TS-590S would offer that same functionality. The 590 has a roofing filter that is variable, so that should offer me more clarity. The TS-2000 has a great receiver, and it uses roofing filters too, but it lacks adjacent signal rejection, and I had to learn how to overcome that issue. The TS-590 has basically solved the TS-2000 image rejection problem. No, this design did not solve the "asshole" issue...just image rejection that is outside the bandpass. There is no way to fix "asshole".
   As I read reviews, I did notice that Kenwood wanted to build and market a better receiver. That is one that would compete with the K3 and the ORION. The only thing I noticed about the competition was they offered a graphic pan-adapter that I cannot believe anyone really uses. There are on-line pan-adapters that work just as well and you don't have to use your receiver to see where the band is busy. If you want DX, say hello to the "spots". I want a receiver that hears the frequency I am set on, and if anything in the receiver takes away from that, well I don't want it, or need it. It is obvious that Kenwood was trying to sell a better transceiver for the sake of "better" not bigger or brighter. I cannot afford a 10 grand radio, so the TS-590S was my target. I looked at the Icom 7600 (no thank you) and the Yaesu radios. The FT-2000 looked alright but after all the filters, the damn thing is 3000 dollars. Remember, this is my last radio I will ever buy and it is not going to cost me the price of a cotton lined casket. I don't need a pan-adapter display on my radio. I want to look at a frequency and talk. Damn, the guy on the other end cares less what I am using...why is that so hard to understand? If you tell me you are using a 10,000 dollar radio and I am on a 1500 dollar radio, who is really smarter here? I get to work in a 1986 F100, you get there in a BMW 640i, whet is the real difference?
   So I made my choice...the TS-590S will be the new W3GAS radio. Now the next thing I do is find the Kenwood website and look at the brochures and download any software that I might be able to use. I will also download the manual and the support files (PDF). So off to the website I go...wow, did I get a face full. More than 100MB of manuals, files and software. The Kenwood ARCP-590 was my first download. It is not much bigger than the TS-2000 version. It looks similar, but there is a lot more menu selections that apply to HF operation. The TS-2000 has several menus, but a lot of them are dedicated to VHF, UHF and SAT operation. Well the ARCP-590 does not have these features, so the menus are extended. The first thing you notice is the controls are sliders now. There is a RIT and XIT knob on the display and the main dial is much larger. The buttons are placed neatly and the menus pop up so you can set and adjust them with ease. I will know more after I hook it up, but that is another story and a lot more software to install. All in all I downloaded 100 plus MB of data and these included the KNS (Kenwood Network Solution) This package is basically an "operating system" that ties the ARHP, ARCP and ARUA together. In simple terms, I can operate my TS-590S from anywhere on the planet (even in an airplane) as long as I can log into my computer at the QTH. I can control my amplifier and select antennas (1 of 2) from the remote position. I can turn on the radio and off when I am done. All the functions of the ARCP are available with a single USB cable plugged into the "590", and I do not need an interface in between. The ARHP is the "host program" and the ARUA is the "audio" service for both microphone and speaker functions used by the "workstation". I can operate SSB, CW, FSK, or any digital mode...all remote. I did not realize this capability till I spent some time with the manuals. Now this is really neat stuff!!!

   So now I sit and wait for the new radio...it is due tomorrow, just before my birthday and you know it will be on the air 3773 KHz come Thursday night.

2/16/12 ~ One day before my Birthday (69) and around 1500 hours the radio arrives. This is perfect timing because everything is in place for the big test. That means, I get the first ear-shot of my TS-590S...OK. let us go...I placed the unit on the shelf where it is proudly displayed and I turn it on (see text below). Needless to say I was not excited, the audio was low and signals sounded distorted. That was not my best moment in life. I calmed down and read the manual..."if you encounter errors after activating your radio for the first time" please see the "HARD RESET" information in the TROUBLE SHOOTING" appendix on page 78. This will save you a lot of aggravation.
   The "hard reset" is completed and now for the FIRMware upgrade. In order to do this I had to complete the following steps...the radio must be connected to a computer. If you are using Windows XP or Vista, you must first, before connecting to the radio, install the ARCP-590 on your computer and the Silicon Labs, virtual com port driver (VCP). The VCP is used for data communication to your USB cable via the serial ports on your PC. This port will show up in your devices listing under My Computer/properties. You must set this port to a speed that matches your 590 settings in menu "62" (115200). When you have completed the setup, see the instruction .PDF files on the Kenwood Software Downloads page, you can turn on your 590 and the XP/VISTA machine will find the radio. Note: If you are using a Windows7 machine, you should setup the VCP, but the computer will automatically find the radio on the USB port. It is easier to setup the 590 on a Windows7 PC. Most new PC machines using Windows7 will not have a dedicated serial port, so USB is your only alternative. Keep the cable as short as possible. Do not use extenders or USB hubs. These are generally not FCC approved and if you run an amp, you could have a possible RF problem with your PC.

   Now that the communication is up and running, test the ARCP thoroughly before attempting any FIRM-ware updates. You will discover that the ARCP offers ease of radio menu functions and gives you more control, in real time, than the MENU button on the radio. Note that radio functions over-ride the PC, so the ARCP goes into sleep while you adjust your 590 radio directly using the menus.

2/17/12 ~ Update the FIRM-ware. This was something I had to do, but first I gave the radio and the computer a chance to settle down. I did not want anything to go wrong on my first update. I had no clue what to expect. I followed the Kenwood directions to the letter. I was operating the radio from Windows7 and the USB cable. I completed the update in a few minutes and found that this was a painless operation. No patients were lost, and that is a good thing considering.
   The radio is working fine and I am rather surprised at the receive functions. This was, after all the main reason I made the purchase. I expected a "better" receive, but not the "Ohh Face" results I got. I mean wow...when compared to my TS-2000, this is a vast improvement. My favorite receivers were Kenwood's TS-180S and the TS-850; both stood tall next to the TS-2000 when it came to image rejection and signal to noise ratio, but the TS-590S is a giant killer (an out of box giant killer). It took some getting used to because I generally ran the "PRE" (RF amplifier stage) turned on. The TS-2000 was not much of a signal getter without it, but the TS-590S hears so well that running the "PRE" full time is a thing of the past. On the net (3773 Cam Radio Net) my friends have all increased by 10DB and that is with stock settings...no other receive controls running. They not only increased signal level but the 3770 bunch does not bother me at all. They are history, while on the TS-2000 they were bothersome most all the time.
    It was time to test the transmit. I had heard 590's on the air and all of them seemed fine. I did run across one that sounded "gruff" and scratchy, but that may have been microphone. I run the Heil Goldline or the Sennheiser 935, I learned my lesson well...I was an MC-60 user and that was a nightmare for RF feedback, so I went to the XLR connectors and the balanced input microphones. I won't go back! The Heil gave me good reports on the TS-2000 and my friends told me that the 590 sounded exactly like me. I had not been into the TX-EQ yet and I figured I would leave that for another day. I wanted to get the amplifier running with the 590.
   I use the ARB-704 interface with my amplifier. This is an insurance device. I don't know how many times I have heard stories about "flash-over" and I don't want that "lightning bolt" coming into my radio via the control circuits. The issue gets worse if the amplifier does not use a "tuned input". Mine does, as well as great control circuits for handling "over shoot" and "over drive", but I still take no chances when it comes to my radio investment. The setup on the 590 was easy. I went into menu "53" and set the amplifier keying to number three (3) on the display. This allowed me to control the amp timing circuit. You can read all about that in the manual. The menu "54" is for six meter operation. Don't get confused. One thing to note, I do not use ALC with my amplifier. Any modern radio that has been developed in the last 10 years does not require ALC. especially into a 20 year old amplifier. These circuits do not operate in the manner intended by designers of tube amplifiers from the 70's. Forget it! Now, if you purchase an all solid-state unit, that is another issue that I cannot attend to here. My amplifier is an Ameritron Al-1500. The 590 drives it perfectly (read about the "over shoot" issue later in this review) and the QSK keying circuit inside the 1500 reacts to CW operation as well. If you have "over-shoot" problems, don't blame it on the 590. Stop using the ALC line between the amp and the 590...in fact stop using it into any radio if the amplifier is an older vintage tube type.

   Just to let you know, I cover ALC elsewhere on my website, but to remind you...most ALC circuits are crude and worthless. They are a resistor, taking RF voltage from the deck and rectifying it. That is (in some cases) controlled by a "bias" pot that combines the ALC radio line and the RF deck line to hold down the exciter RF drive output. This is totally stupid and the reason Drake named it AGC on the "L" series amplifiers. ALC on modern radios takes care of itself.

2/18/12 ~ The ease of use factor...I may be jumping all over the place here but this is a feature worth talking about.
   In the image to the left, you see an active function menu selection, if you click on, say the "noise blanker" the "NB1" icon will pop up on the screen above the frequency display, if you push a second time the radio enters "NB2" mode. However if you hold the "NB" button for (1) one second, the "menu help banner" pops up as shown (2) and you can adjust the depth of the "NB1" setting using the MULTI/CH knob (3). What makes this unique is you now have knob type control for every button on the radio and you do not have to remember menus or numbers. Some of the buttons have their own control, such as the "Notch" and "Notch W" (wide) control. So essentially you have total "front panel control" of most all the buttons, but without the "menu help banner", your learning curve would be extended and you would be thumbing through the manual just when that rare DX station is ready to call you...what a bummer!!
   The ARCP app if you have it running, will also allow menu changes, but if you have any of the menu buttons active on the radio display, the ARCP is closed and you cannot use it until the menu selection is completed and un-selected. This is a fail proof software change for the ARCP that was not available on the TS-2000. More on the ARCP later on...
   I know that a lot of you don't care much for computer controlled radios. A lot of you have no time for computers and have never gone beyond Windows 98 or XP, but that is not a choice when it comes to SDR or the more expensive "box radios" that use the computer for setting radio properties. I am not knocking them, but computers have become contraceptive to many "I like knobs" users. That is simply a line of "bull shit". Knobs have nothing to do with it...the computer is probably the intimidating factor. So rather than learn a computer, we will simply make excuses. But this radio eliminates that problem...it will satisfy both users and you old farts can invite your grand kids to bring in their laptop and program the EQ's for you and update the radio. How cool is that?

   Oh yeah I have a question, or two...why would you concern yourself with a microphone that is rated at 20 to 20,000 cycles for SSB use? Why hang a 100 band EQ off a radio when the last 65 bands are out of the SSB audio spectrum? What am I missing when my filter is set to 2.6KHz and your radio is broadcasting at 6KHz wide? Is there some secret code above 3KHz that I cannot hear? If you have a responsible answer, please let me know.


3/07/12 ~ Well now I know that I have purchased an entry level radio. Yes the 590S is considered an entry level radio...by who(?) Well some ICOM 7600 user...yes he was reviewing the 590S, but he does not own one. He saw it at a hamfest and that is his personal review. Amazing that this entry level puts the heat on those 'spensive radios like the K3 and the 7000 series ICOMS. Oh yes, they also hear as well, if not better than the FT-1000D. So if this is my entry level radio, I guess I have to sell it off and spend another 5000.00 so I can "adjust" my "on air" ego and my "more knobs" mentality. Imagine what the owner of a FLEX 3000 must be thinking about right now(?) But then why would he be reading this?
  
  
   I did manage to find some very useful information regarding the SERVICE MODE for the TS-590S. The service mode menu was borrowed from the TS-570S. The 570 used the plug I show here and ribbon cable that is used to separate the radio chassis. Since you won't be doing that, I suggest you make up the connector from the pack of plugs you received with your 590. The jumper is from PIN8 ~ PIN 9. These two pins should be shorted together. Now simply plug the connector into the ACC2 din slot and prepare to turn "on" the radio. With two fingers, push the [MIC] and the [NR] buttons while you turn on the radio. The number MENU "88" should appear in the "memory" position on the main screen. When the number appears,  you may remove the adjustment jig (I do not). Now select the adjustment Menu Mode using the [MULTI/CH] knob. You may change any adjustment data, but keep in mind it will not be active till you write the data and press the [CLR] to enter the VFO mode.
   Changing the data is done using the [M.IN] button or the [SCAN] button. You may also use the "hand mic" [UP] or [DN] keys. This sometimes makes things a bit easier, but the buttons on the face of the radio work just as well. To write your adjustments, you simply scroll to MENU "60" and use the [MIC] key as explained above, to (good) the changes. To cancel the adjustment menu, hit the [CLR] key. If you turn off the radio the "write" mode is also cancelled, so you really don't have much to worry about. However keep in mind that you should keep a cheat sheet. That way you will know if your adjustments helped or hindered the radio operation. There is a PDF file that will help explain the menu. You can download that file from this website.
Note that with the "jig" in place you cannot transmit, so "turn off the radio" and remove the plug. Now turn the radio "ON".
There is also an XLS file that goes into the menu as well. I will try to find that file and place it on the site for your review. Never-the-less, if you want to play with the radio service menu, the information I gathered here will be helpful.
   One thing to note...after you enter new data and set [CLR] to write the information you will receive a "good" for your effort. I mean the menu will read as "good", like "good job" or "good for you" or "good luck". You make the call because I fear that you may be playing with fire. Always keep notes...

3/10/12 ~ The ALC argument continues...however I have not found out what the issue really is. I have 107 watts out of my TS-590S on CW-FSK and SSB. That is measured by my Bird 43. Now I don't really trust my Ameritron wattmeter inside 10%, but even if I give it 10% tolerance, I am in the ball park. My Drake WM-4 has always been within 10% and even that shows the TS-590S is better than 100 watts out. But it is the Tektronix 2213 that tells me I am doing 100+ watts into the tuner. So I must trust what I see and without expensive test gear. I can only abide by the ALC meter on the radio and hope that circuit is functioning properly, but what do I know, my 590 is apparently a fluke...I have sent a nice letter to Kenwood asking them to explain the issue. I hear so much about it from "Icom users" that I cannot get the facts correct. So I wrote Kenwood and asked for an answer. They replied asking me if I updated the firm-ware to 1.06 and basically said if the problem existed they were not aware of it at this time.
   So at this point I will re-visit the ALC over-shoot...whatever(?), again in the future But for now I am going to leave well enough alone. I think I missed that question on the element IV exam. Never-the-less all of this gets interesting when you enter the world of Ham Radio. But fear not, you can always wait for the next new radio on the market, buy it, and start blogging again...what fun!!!
   Meanwhile the SERVICE MENU details are on this page...so experiment all you want, but don't lose site of your real objective...have fun. If this gets too technical for you...take up Golf.

3/16/12 ~ This is a "blow by blow" description on setting up the Kenwood TS-590S for remote operation over a local network. This is all covered in the KNS setup manual, a PDF file that you can download and print. This 29 page manual is a good reference and it will make things a little easier.
   My first impression of the ARCP is a good one. No, it does not look like a FLEX radio, It looks like an interface screen to a "software controlled radio" (SCR). It is a lot like the 570 ARCP and similar to the 2000 version. The same "simple" tuning knob is in place, but you can use a "Griffin Jog Shuttle control" in place of the main dial, or simply use your thumb wheel on the mouse to change frequency. I have not tried my track ball, but I will soon enough to give you a review. I will get into ARCP details later on, but for now here are the basic steps you must take to setup remote access for your 590.
   To start, you must download all the needed files. They are located HERE on the Kenwood download page. You will download the ARCP-590, Virtual COM-PORT driver, ARUA-10, ARHP and ARVP KNS command system and (for guru operation) you can download the PC CONTROL REFERENCE. Place these files in a folder on your PC and remember where they are. Now you can access the files and open the archives for setup.
   My network is a simple HOME NETWORK using a WORKGROUP. I have (2) Windows 7 machines, (1) XP SP3 machine and (1) on Windows Server 2003. The network is obviously W3GAS and I have file sharing turned on. I have password protection on all machines. So I will need to remember these passwords when setting up the KNS. Before I start all this I must be sure that I can access files to and from each machine which I plan to access for the 590 remote. There is a trick to this and I want to explain, if you are using Windows 7 or Vista for the HOST and the CLIENT is Windows XP or Windows Server, you must setup Windows 7 (or Vista) in a WORKGROUP. Windows 7 defaults to a "homegroup". That is Ok if all machines are Windows 7, but if they are not, the Windows 7 computer must be on a WORKGROUP.

 Note that because this function can also be used over the Internet you should be sure that "remote access" is available on your host computer.

   The "HOST" computer is directly connected to the 590. You may be connected via a serial cable or, like me, I use USB to handle the connection. Note that USB does allow AUDIO to be exchanged from and to another remote computer. If you have chosen the serial cable, you will be required to use the VOiP (voice over IP) function. SERIAL communication can be quite a bit slower than using USB 2.0. There may be a latency issue, especially if your connection is 19,200 or slower baud rate. but a local network hardwired should not be too bad at all. Maybe not great for contesting, but certainly very respectable. This is a "hardware" issue and you should choose your HOST and CLIENT wisely.
   Ok your local setup requires a HOST and a REMOTE, here after known as the CLIENT. You will need local IP addresses on the HOST and the CLIENT. This can be set using Windows setup "network places/properties" select your LOCAL CONNECTION "properties/Internet Protocol TCP-IP/properties". Now, "use the following IP address" You should set the IP address to 192.168.1.150 or higher, up to 255. Do not give the HOST or the CLIENT the same address. Set the "subnet mask" to the default 255.255.255.0. Now set the "default gateway" to your ROUTER ADDRESS (example: 192.168.1.1). Finally set the "preferred DNS" to your ROUTER. If you make a mistake here it the ARHP will send an error message. You can get help HERE if you have never set IP addresses for XP, Vista or 7.
   The 590S is connected to the HOST and the HOST is connected to a "switch or a router". This network distribution device is connected to the CLIENT and the HOST along with options like a MODEM to the Internet or a PRINTER. In the basic setup The HOST runs ARHP, and the ARVP-H. The CLIENT (remote) must be running the ARCP-590 and ARVP-R. The ARVP is optional only if you want to SEND and RECEIVE AUDIO. The ARVP handles the audio for microphone and speaker to and from the TS-590. The Internet connection is similar but there are a few other rules that must be understood to make the Internet connection function properly (port forward rules, porting protocols and Global IP information must be obtained). But, first, let us make our connection over a LOCAL LAN.
   To get started we will configure the audio cable. There is a small bag of DIN plugs that came with your radio. In this bag find the plug for the ACC2 connector. This is a 13 pin DIN plug. You will need two (2) plugs that can interface with your sound card. generally these are 3.5 mm Mini-plug. However you may have some other device that you interface to the PC. This is Ok because you are basically connecting MIC IN and LOW LEVEL AUDIO OUT from the TS-590.
   You will be required to have the DOT NET Framework installed on all computers that will access the ARHP HOST. The ARHP-590 will seek out the app during installation. If the proper version of DOT NET is already on your computer, the installation will take only a few moments, otherwise, it will take some time to do a complete setup...be patient.
   The ARCP and ARVP-10R are installed on the CLIENT (remote PC). The ARHP and ARVP-10H along with your connection to the transceiver are installed on the HOST computer. The CLIENT runs ARCP and does all the command generation for the ARCP functions. These commands are intercepted by the ARHP at the HOST and passed to the TS-590S. The ARVP-10R is a VOiP application that supplies the 590 with audio in and receiver out. The ARVP-10H must be running on the HOST, and ARVP-10R must be executed on the CLIENT in order to pass audio (in/out) to and from the 590.
   Setting up the initial connection is simple, but you must follow a set of steps. Take a few minutes and decide what USER NAME and PASSWORD you will give your CLIENT. The HOST may be "your call" and the CLIENT, "your call_R". The PASSWORD can be anything, but keep it simple to remember. You will need to access both the HOST (via the Windows login) and the KNS. They do not remember credentials so set it up in steps that makes it easier on you.
   There are 29 pages in the KNS manual...read carefully but do not become frustrated. If you follow along here it will happen. Kenwood suggest that you do not run ARHP/ARCP on different "windows versions". That is not true. My setup is an XP-SP3 machine talking to a Windows 7 machine. It can be done and is rather simple to implement as long as the Windows 7 machine is on the same "workgroup" as the XP machine.
   To begin...do not start the 590 at this time. On the HOST computer, run ARHP now. This screen should be the default...

This is simple to understand, the "CONNECT" button will make connection to your TS-590 and the indicator will turn "yellow" the "POWER" button has a "green" indicator. The rest of the screen is blank. The information in these boxes will change as soon as the CLIENT has access to the ARHP application.

The boxes will indicate radio Model...User Name...User Description, IP Address and Session restrictions. This screen
has 4 menu selections across the top. Only the "TOOLS" menu is active for the USER. here you can edit the LOGIN "connect" message, set the LANGUAGE and most importantly edit new users.

Click on the "tools/setup" menu. The next screen will be the
KNS setup screen. Here is where you complete the setup and add new users.

First you must set the COM PORT. Remember that if you are running the radio on USB, you are using the "virtual port driver" and a COM port is assigned for communication. Mine is COM4. That port is available and will be set in the PORT NUMBER dialogue. The BAUD RATE must match the radio as set for the ARCP. The IP address of the machine running the ARHP is posted in the dialogue box with the LAN port number as 50,000. This is default. The session setting defaults to UNLIMITED in the dialogue.
Set the reconnection to automatic. This will insure that the radio will be connected upon a power failure to the computer or radio.
Now we sill setup the USER. The box should be empty if this is your first setup. Click "ADD" now and a small box, shown below, will pop up. This box is where you enter information that allows a user to access the ARHP.

   You will enter a USERNAME and PASSWORD here and a small description of the USER. This information will be displayed on the main page of the ARHP when that user is connected. You may disable the user at anytime so there is no worry if you have several. You can only log on to the system one user at a time, so no worry.

   When the USER setup has been completed, the user name will appear on the USER LIST. You can "double click" on any user and edit USER information required. You can change PASSWORD or user description. You cannot change USER NAME. You will be required to DELETE and ADD again. Once a user has been created, the name cannot be changed using the editor. Note that setting a session time effects all users. If you operate remote and, say a club member operates your radio also, you must set the session to UNLIMITED if you do not want to be shut down during any session of operation. The SESSION timing should be used wisely for " club member" remote operation.

Keep a log of all users you have set for this operation. I have 3 users. Two are local computers and 1 is remote entry over the internet. This is a great application for connection when you are away on business, vacation or even during a stay in the hospital. Most motels, medical centers and business locations have Internet access via WiFi connections. The ARHP does a great job handling the remote operation of your TS-590S.
   Now we will look at the ARCP from a remote standpoint.
Update 6/08/13: The consensus seems to be that the ARCP and the ARHP must be installed and operational in order to remotely operate your TS-590S. This is nothing  further from the truth...in reality I find using the RDP (Remote Desktop Protocol) for Windows is just as easy and might actually be safer. RDP is based upon the ITU family and is a multi-channel protocol that allows separate channels for transmission of device communication and control. This protocol supports 64,000 channels for data transmission. Far more than you will ever need to fully operate your Kenwood. There are other factors too...you can control, with an 8 channel USB interface, your amplifier, tuner and other devices from a remote location. This is something that the ARCP/ARHP cannot do.
   For instance, by interfacing your audio from remote to local, and by using a filter application locally, you can enhance your RDP microphone input to the Kenwood. You can incorporate your soundcard audio output directly through your Kenwood (front or rear connection).
   The ARCP, when run locally via RDP is faster and can eliminate software latency. You will still have to deal with communication line latency, but today's hi-speed networks (Intranet) manage this with ease, even with an extreme distance from your shack.
   One such device that I use is the WYSE (DELL) V90L Thin Client Terminal. This is a computer...but there are no moving parts. The XP-SP2 operating system is stored in ROM and is easily executed and supports a full function Remote Desktop Protocol. (more to come).

4/30/2012 ~ I revisit the "service menu" for a moment. First I want to warn you that you cannot transmit with the "service plug" in the radio. So if you do any service adjustments you will have to remove the "jig" in order to test your findings. I mentioned that I was going to investigate further the issue with the so called "over shoot" issue. Well it seems that DK5TX has already done this. Actually he was working on the issue about the same time I bought my TS-590. He addresses the issue in an article placed on the Internet that you can link to from my Notes at the bottom of this page. This is required reading for TS-590 users.
   The article explains the results of the DK5TX investigation and he explains what is happening on the infamous "over shoot" issue. Well as I expected it is not an "over shoot" at all. It is a "power spike" that is generated by "slow ALC" operation. Slow as in, not fast enough to control a power spike near 2 times that of the radio RF output. This seems to be a software issue and not a time constant issue, but I think Kenwood will address the problem in a "firmware" update. Just when, we cannot say, but keep your eyes to the sky.
   This may come as a shock...but all radios have some level of "RF spike". The ALC circuit cannot function until there is RF at the output. Even if you added an ALC detection device at the coax connector, the damn radio would have "over-shoot" (the dumbest choice of words). This is a problem that simply cannot be eliminated unless the RF output is shut down before transmission. That makes no sense either. The issue is "too fast for conditions". The 590 is a CPU processed radio. These processes are far and away "faster" than any analog circuit on the market. This may be the reason we see a greater level of "spike" from the 590 than say an IC-706 or an FT-950.
   Meanwhile I read the article and made the ALC adjustment as stated there. I did not increase the power out level as many have done. The article explains why you should not make that adjustment and I agree with these engineers completely. The ALC circuit should be triggered faster to eliminate the problem. Power spikes have been an issue for years, but as we increase our use of digital applications in Amateur Radio equipment, we will have to find "faster" ways to control these problems. ALC is the modern electronics  equivalent of AGC or APL used years ago. These circuits were designed to "hold down" the SSB power level and allow the controlled the audio circuit. This control was a break-through that nearly eliminated IMD and FLAT TOP as we remember it in the early 60's. Flat topping was common back then because we had no AGC circuits that could control the exciter output and the use of amplifiers just made matters worse. Today we control this problem with ALC.
This is the SPIKE after the ALC reference has bee adjusted above 225.    Now according to what I have found is certain amplifier circuits don't lend themselves will to the "power spike" the TS-590 is generating. Let me explain...I own and operate an AL-1500 (8877) by Ameritron. The circuit that controls the shut down of the amplifier was constant with detailed information from Ameritron's technical manual back when I was running the amp using my TS-2000. That same information rings true and to the same level of the TS-590S. Actually I can drive the AL-1500 harder before shut down using the 590 than the 2000. So the spike is not an issue as long as you keep your head and think about controlling the ALC. That is where you should make a "service menu" adjustment. Lower the ALC reference, do not increase it as suggested by the "guru's" of radio. You know the ones I mean, they actually believe the G5RV has gain over a dipole.
   I want you to read the entire article on the DK5TX website. I have placed one of the images from that site for this article. The spike shown is nearly two times higher and last longer when the ALC reference is set above 225. I set mine lower to 115 and it seems to work much better although I see ALC on the meter without voice, and I have not seen that problem since the old hybrid days. This issue will no doubt be resolved, but how soon is a question of interest to us all. If any of this concerns you, please take time to read the article. Perhaps the hard work of the team that did the investigating will save you the costly embarrassment of returning your radio to Kenwood only to have them deny warranty service because you made adjustments that were not documented by them. I also hope that these engineers passed this information on to Kenwood in light of this issue and that Kenwood does in fact find a fix for the problem. Meanwhile, this is not a problem here, so I will continue to enjoy a great receiver with amazing noise reduction and image rejection rivaled only by the FT-1000 with mechanical filters installed. That is a pretty high task to match let alone score above. The FT-1000 set the analog radio benchmark, we can only hope the TS-990 sets the benchmark for digital radio.
   The final results are in, the settings I came up with after much trial and tribulation are posted here and in my user notes. Before I get into this I want you to know I came up with these numbers using a scope and a single tone test driven through the microphone input. The "MIC" setting was 50 and the "PWR" setting was 55. The average output on my wattmeter was 39 watts (using short bursts of tone), the power out with solid tone input was 51 watts. My scope was connected to the AL-1500 output and my first tests (ALC reference set to 115) displayed little spike at all, but it actually looked a little "slow", shaped more like a bullet than the image shown above. The key down seemed to hold back on the power slightly. I set the ALC reference to 185, that shut down the amplifier almost every time. I backed it down to 150 and lowered the "PWR" setting to 45 watts. This seemed controllable and the amp liked it, but not 100% of the time. If I increased the "MIC" to 60 the amp would cycle down 50% of the transmission tests (all into a dummy load for the sake of being politically correct). I lowered the reference to 120 and that seemed to be a very nice position with menu 24 set to 179. I tried that several times and I was about to leave it alone but noticed that "Big Al" was not delivering full power as I expected. So I increased the ALC reference to 130 and left the POC alone at 179 (menu 24). The results were great, but I had to play with that menu 24. I was not about to leave that stone unturned. I started with a setting of 200...that was obviously not going to work. Even when I lowered the "PWR" control to 40 watts, the amplifier would break into shut down 70% of the time. The spike was visible, even on my puny Techtronics 2213 (and my B&W 5100). I did not see the nice tone display I was looking for, the spike looked like a small FLAT TOP edge on the front of the output. Note, I cannot show you any images here because I don't have a digital storage unit. I lowered the POC to 180 and tried again. The results were dramatic. The power output was well into the 1700 range and the amplifier did not shut down. Not once at 50 watts, 55 watts, 60 watts or 65 watts. At 70 watts the amp shut down 2 out of 5 tests (the output was beyond legal at this point), but it did that on a regular basis driven by my TS-2000, TS-180S and a old TS-520. The amp was reacting to "over drive" input and not the ALC reference setting. I will use these settings and I will recommend them to Ameritron technical staff so they can react to complaints. They will get complaints I assure you. There is always someone out there who wants to drive ten pounds of shit into a five pound bag.
  
5/5/2012 ~ This is not going to sit well with the rest of the gang but here goes...I obtained my own FT-1000 recently. This is my benchmark for all radios ever built. There were many classic radios placed on the market over the years and the FT101 was such a radio, it sat well for many years, and it's only competition was the Kenwood Hybrids. The TS-520S and the 530SP (later the 830S). These were out there during the best of times with great American radios' like the Drake TR7 and Collins "S" line. But in the early nineties the radio too own was a battle royal between the FT-1000 and the TS-950SDX. Both were  great radios with amazing receivers, however the FT-1000 was "king of the hill". There was never an Icom that could keep up with these two radios. The early Icom models with bad on/off switches and battery issues that cost a small fortune to fix left a lot of poor taste in users mouths. Icom later re-gained market share simply because it had more "bells and whistles" than the FT-1000 or the Kenwood 950 and 870 radios. While the FT-1000 was still selling well, Kenwood introduced the "all-in-wonder" radio the TS-2000, only after a miserable TS-570 run that was a disaster from the beginning to end. I still don't know which 570 model plays on 6 meters. But the Kenwood 2000 was down right ugly. It did not sit well with the "more knobs wins" gang so it was generally passed by for the Icom series radios. How Icom ever gained as much market share I will never know. But they certainly bring out new radios...damn near every month. Anyway back to the TS-2000. I owned 2 (two) of them and enjoyed using them from my computer. They played well, but they had some receiver problems that did not sit well on crowded bands. They fixed this issue in the 590 by the way. But this segment is all about the FT-1000 and comparisons with the TS-590 and will not be studied till I have more time...so here we go.
   The FT-1000 I have purchased has a problem. The 1ss101 diodes in the SWR clamp circuit have died. This is a common problem and the tell-tale symptom is an SWR that pins the meter to the top on transmit, no matter how low you adjust the power. Most all FT-1000 transmit problems can be traced to the LPF UNIT. As soon as I get the radio running again, I will note the repairs here and continue my comparison for you.
   I sold the FT-1000. This is a nice radio if you have one and it is operating properly you should feel blessed. I did all the math and went through all the hoops trying to get the radio operating again. I sold the radio to a Ham located in Arizona. He had an FT-1000D with a different problem. Between mine and his, he managed to gather up the correct parts and now has a perfectly good FT-1000D with a lot of spare parts.
   That was my last Yaesu I will ever own. These are nice radios, but I am going to finish out my days on the air using my Kenwoods. No more experimenting for me. I learned my lesson.
 

Useful notes and operation tips:
Startup: 2/16/12 ~ Before you begin...that is just after you have set the radio in place, do not play the radio without doing a 'hard reset" right away, first order. I found that remnants of the service setup remained and that caused a small "receive audio" and "AGC floor" issue to start. I reset the radio (power on [a/b] - [a/b] to complete the reset) and everything was normal. Please check your FIRM-ware version while as do this reset.

Next: 2/16/12 ~ I suggest you take a moment and check the FIRM-ware version. Mine was V1.05 and required an update. This was also available on the Kenwood website (link below).
Computer Control: 2/17/12 ~ If you decide to use a computer controlled application, you should setup the com port or USB port on your computer first. I mention this, so I suggest you take a moment and look at your options. If you decide to go serial cable, be sure you obtain one that will work well in an RF field environment. That should also be considered for the USB cable.
2/17/12 ~ In order to use Ham Radio Deluxe, you must download the final "free" version. Now that the application will become commercial and cost you 39.95 at a minimum, I suggest you take a moment to look at ARCP-590 from Kenwood file archive. HERE
3/11/12 ~ We find some interesting details regarding the Service Mode Menu of the TS590S. Basically the service mode has been upgraded from the 570 to the 590. The proper use of this menu is documented in a PDF file that is available HERE for download. The Service Plug is shown above in the illustration.
3/15/12 ~ Take a moment and look at menus 25 and 26. These are the Transmit Bandwidth filters settings. They are adjustable from LOW CUT of 10 cycles to a high cut of 3000 cycles or 3 KHz wide. These settings are great for adjusting your audio and voice patterns. You must understand, you cannot open up the radio any wider than 3 KHz
.
5/1/2012 ~ T found some very interesting facts about the TS-590 over-shoot issue. It really is not an "over shoot" at all...I really did not understand that terminology, but hey I build race engines so WTF do I know? Any way go to the link I have added here. I can detail the results after I spend more time with the radio but from what I am seeing on the Wattmeter, there is no visible spike. The article mensions a number like 113/114...I set mine to 115 so I get some ALC action but not the arbitrary power spike during initial power on. Please read the article so you don't do what a lot of users are doing. There is a possible damage issue that could arise turnning up the Rf out power. Be careful...take my word for it...don't do it. Look at the link I have placed HERE, it will open in a new browser window.
5/15/2012 ~ My settings using the TS-590 Service Menu.
I decided to run some tests of my own. I initially set the ALC reference (Menu No. 23) to 115. I had a hard time getting the AL-1500 out of bed early on. I mean when I would speak the power level was not up to par with my TS-2000, (based upon the first syllable of the word "hello"). So, I increased the reference to 195. That rendered my AL-1500 response time very quickly, but at times it would set access the "protection" circuit and close down the amplifier relay control. So, I decided to set the reference to 150 and try that. The setting allows me to run up to 1200 or better on the first "hello". The power input to BIG AL is 60 watts and I can see a full 60 watts on my digital watt meter. The wattmeter on my ATR-30 displays better than 2000 PEP.
I will try that setting...this is an ongoing work of labor and love. I have not changed any power settings as of yet (Menu No. 24) however I am considering that if the issue continues. I would like to up the power setting while lowering the ALC reference so the "over-shoot" (looks like a power spike to me) does not activate AL-1500 shut-down.
5/18/2012 ~ The final settings for my TS-590 have been recorded. My suggestion to AL-1500 users, is as follows: Menu 23 = 130 and Menu 24 = 182. These are subtle changes in the settings menu, not those dramatic 235 numbers that are totally out of control. I use a digital wattmeter, perhaps those who are looking for high power output with rapid response are using analog meters to judge their settings. Hey "bozo" you cannot use an analog meter in this situation. They are too slow...if you have a scope in your shack...use it!!!
Update: I sold the AL-1500 and now I am running a Henry (again) with a pair of 3-500Z finals. I found that my settings as described above work fine with the Henry as well...so this seems to be the best for my voice and my style. That is the key here...not all of us play radio the same and that must be considered too. Don't take every thing you read as verbatim. You must experiment...
6/25/13 ~ The latest tips for users. I suggest that you find and purchase a SHURE A15LA audio line adapter. This very useful adapter (hi-level to lo-level) comes in an XLR package and can be placed directly into the microphone input line of your TS-590. This in-line adapter will allow you to interface your computer for digital modes or audio record playback. It will allow you to access some of the more exotic audio filters, EQ and mixer applications and directly apply them to your 590. It can be used with the ARHP in the Kenwood network for handling the remote audio. If you eliminate the ARHP and use RDP, you can decrease latency issues
that seem to appear using the Kenwood LAN functions. For additional details search "VOIP" software.
-------------------------------------------------- END OF TIPS --------------------------------------------


8/3/2012 ~ I have come out of the closet...no I am not gay, by any stretch of your imagination, I mean I have finished the 6 month learning curve for my TS-590. Here are the facts as gay as they may seem, the TS-590S is a winner.
Price Point: This has always been a major factor with Kenwood radios. They build BARE BONES radios that do not require a second mortgage to own. The 1500.00 price tag will certainly drop after the TS-990 makes it to market. The 590 has, for it's base price, blown away much of the competition that costs as much as three times the price, including those that you have to build yourself.
  The TS-2000 had it's receiver issues. I owned a pair of them, but I found no other "all station" rig (HF, VHF, UHF) that I can honestly say I would choose over the 2000. In a word...the 590 "blows" away the 2000 HF receiver.
  I have replaced my 2000 with a 350.00 used TS-450S. This is a great HF radio and is the perfect TS-590 companion. They sit well on the shelf, and because the 450 has the 850/870 front end, it hears almost as good as the 590, but without the DSP, the 450 does not have the noise floor of the 590.
  Simply put...there is nothing in the 1500.00 (1300 - 1700) range that will surpass the 590...at least not today.
The Pros and Cons: These have not changed and never will. If you are an Icom user you will never accept anything made by Kenwood. But Icom lacks one thing that to me is extremely important...service. The Icom service department leaves a lot to be desired. I mean, how many times do you send out BIOS updates till you re-design the radio and tag a new model number to it? I have owned Yaesu and Ten-Tec, but I am not a fan simply because I like my radio in one "bundle".
   Then there is the "over-shoot" issue. Hey Bunky, all new solid state radios are going to have this "RF power spike" issue when used with an older less expensive tube amplifier. Damn, my TS-530 and my 450 have an initial ALC spike simply because ALC is not a function of the transmitter, it is a function of the AGC circuit in the IF. The TS-590 has a 'service adjustment mode" that will allow you to "fine tune" your 590 operation into your amplifier...any amplifier. If you read my entry from 5/18 you will understand better what is happening here.
   The "noise floor" issue...LMFAO. The TS-590 noise floor does not get any better than this. S/N ratio is extremely low. I have seen 40 over signals from a noise floor of S1. That is on my 80 Meter Loop and I don't claim all that low noise to be the radio. I use a decent antenna. My Loop is 23 feet away from a power pole transformer and less than that from a merc-vapor street lamp. Noise floor is not about "interference" and you are not going to improve any radio if you lower the "atmospheric" noises which are all part of the receiver. AGC is the factor and if you can control the AGC you can lower the noise floor and increase the signal levels, but to blame a radio for your poor power company equipment is simply stupid and "A" typical of today's "radio GURU". I don't care what you have for a radio, if you have a high noise floor...with the antenna connected, you are not going to improve the receiver performance by degrading the AGC circuit trying to eliminate the noise at the IF...get you ass up out of the chair and find the source.
   If you don't like the lack of knobs, too bad, that is a factor when "control processing" is part of the equation. The ARCP program that comes with the TS-590 is great and works very well. It even makes "remote" operation a piece of cake and every part of the 590 can be utilized with the ARCP, including a BAND SCANNER that will look at any portion of any band you choose. You can sit and "tweet" to your hearts content while the "scanner" looks for some signal spike on the frequencies of your choice. If you care so much about the other frequencies, buy a "spectrum analyzer" or purchase the Flex 3000.
The ARCP and the SCANNER will operate REMOTE. Try reading the "band scope" from a remote position on those more expensive radios. You can run silent and then click on any portion of the "scan" and you are there (even remote).
These are the items that are over-looked when someone mentions a 5000.00 radio doing much more. Well not in my case. I center the 590 over 3.773 MHz and set my scan rate to 20KHz. I make one scan and click on the spikes. I can set all the parameters of the scan from the receiver functions of my choice. I know the IF is not wasting it's time or energy looking at signals "pop" up and down for the sake of some "visual surprise". This is almost like looking at a picture of a beautiful woman that you will never encounter in your lifetime, or a fancy automobile that you cannot afford. Watching someone else on a band scope is great for "contesters" but how do you know the "big spike" is actually in the contest until you listen....DUH!!!
Bells and Whistles: To me accessories are my choice and I don't want to pay thousands of dollars for items I don't have any use for. I would rather monitor "MY" signal than yours. What you put into your antenna is your business and your problem. If you sound bad, I ain't gonna talk to you. I know what I am putting on the air because I monitor my signal throughout the entire RF chain. That, sir, is how a professional does things. Looking at a BAND SCOPE does not mean a damn thing to me. I don't feel any better that I can see a bunch of signals up the band, I am on one frequency and talking to one station or I am involved in a PTT net. What is on the left or the right does not matter to me. Fancy displays are expensive and costly to repair. The 590 has a "generic" screen, and it displays the required information to me, and that is all I am interested in.
   I am sure the "bells and whistle" bunch will like the TS-990 far better than the 590. They will have their choice of fancy band scopes and amazing displays...but the 990 is more about contesting than the 590. The 990 will have a 200 watt output. It will have "true" dual receivers and the second receiver is no more or less the 590. In fact the primary receiver is also a 590 but for a few additional filter options. If I want a second receiver of the 590 quality, I will buy a second 590. If I want 200 watts, I will run my amplifier. The important thing is to communicate. That is what Ham Radio was all about before "social media" websites took over.
Whazzzup!
Today, all our manufacturers must sell radios to an aging breed of customers. Many of us are on fixed income and cannot afford 5000 dollar "rice boxes". Hell, I did not buy a K3 for several reasons but building was not the issue, it was the overall expense. The radio starts out at a price point well above the 590 and just gets worse from there. Oh, did I consider their (Elecraft) service..."don't mention it".
   What is actually going on out here is mentally some kind of extreme break-down. Amateur Radio operators are no longer operators, they have become computer specialists. They buy the latest "hot toddy" and inside six months have moved on to the next. This is "computer mentality" and the manufacturers know this. Icom introduces a new radio every 6 months. What was wrong with the previous unit that makes this one any better? Kenwood has not introduced a new radio for many years. Why(?) because they saw no reason too.
  
Many of our new fraternal members change their call sign the same day they order their expensive toys. That way they can use their two by one call when the station arrives. Most of the "new-bee" Ham Radio operators in the hobby today are spending $5000.00 for a radio, that will be connected to a G5RV. What is that all about? They "tweet" or "toob" complaining about NOISE and never consider the source of the noise or the antenna that is receiving the noise. They believe a "compromise" antenna is "compromise" for transmit ONLY. There is no way a 100 foot antenna is going to out-hear a 260 foot loop on 75 meters. So why would you build an antenna that is more of a 'handicap" than a "compromise". In better terms...neither buying a TS-590 nor an FT-DX5000 is worth your money if you plan to "handicap" the radio. Amateur Radio was never a "trademark" hobby. It was not intended to be an "all band ~ all mode" citizen band.
In closing...if this is frustrating for you to read, imagine how I must feel writing it? The TS-590 with all it's bad marks from the "gurus" of the sport, is in my mind one of the classic radios of the new millennium. It will go down in history as did the TS-520 and 530. It will stand the test of time up against the FT-1000D and all the "pro" radios you can own. I know, I tested them, and while I did not own some of them...I can honestly say, you will never regret purchasing a TS-590.
   Go ahead and buy whatever...it is your money. If you buy a radio...any radio, for the sake of impressing your neighbors you are simply an idiot. Don't expect anyone of us to read an opposing review about your radio if you have nothing good, or bad, to say about it. "Is the 590 the perfect radio?" No, but the FT-DX5000 is not any more than the ICOM 7800. My concerns are how much I get for my "budget" income. If that is all I base the 590 on, well, in my simple mind, it was a great choice.
But it was MY choice not anyone else...

1/23/13 ~ Here I am again, and I have, yet another call sign. I won't go there, but just to let you know, the new call is W3GAS.
   Ok, enough of that...I wanted you to know that the 590 is still my primary receiver. It plays so well that I have almost no complaints. Almost means, there are a few things that I would like in addition, but they are not worth mentioning and they have been addressed in the TS-990, but I will never be able to enjoy that radio unless I hit the lottery, and even then the 990 purchase would be far down the list of priorities.
   I rag chew (goof off) on 80 meters with the Cam Radio nuts (net). A bunch of old men who have nothing better to do than appear as "grumpy farts" or "dirty minded seniors". Basically we are harmless and just have a good time...all the time. Laughter is the greatest single gift God has given us.
   Anyway, what I wanted to mention was receive audio. This is important. First of all, the TS-590 uses digital audio and, up to the final AF stage it is processed heavily throughout most of the receiver chain. There is a very nice receive EQ that is adjustable via the ARCP program, but if you use it improperly you will upset the radios very fine receiver functions...those are the HO-LO WIDTH, SHIFT bandpass settings. Let me explain. The knobs (yes the TS-590 does have knobs) located to the left of the AF/RF controls are very important. But for you to see this you must have a computer connected to the output audio of the TS-590. The audio must pass into your sound card via some type of interface. A simple NP capacitor will handle the decoupling, but a better interface would be a LOW impedance to HIGH impedance transformer. This would give you decoupling and match the 600 ohm input to most soundcards. I use an oscilloscope. My shack scope has an output jack that is directly coupled to the vertical amplifier output. I simply take this output into my computer. It works great for digital modes and eliminates all sorts of issues that too many of the "fancy toy" interfaces have. This is complete isolation and buffered output from the radio. The Vertical gain control on the scope controls the computer input gain, so there is no HIGH LEVEL output distortion inserted to the computer sound card.
   Now follow along with this, the computer output is delivered to a TEAC 2A mixer board. I monitor levels using the MB-20 VU meter accessory. That allows me to tailor the input to a 15 WATT low distortion Creative Labs amplified set of speakers. I recommend the Inspire S2, T10 or the T3300 series systems.
TIP: The E-MU 0204 USB interface is a really nice interface for the TS-590 to your PC or MAC.
Sorry for the delay...
   The output from the TEAC is delivered to my Inspire T10 and also into a Creative Labs 15 watt modular sound amplifier, generally used for mobile MP3 file player devices. This gives me a couple of options when listening. The Separate Creative Amplifier is taken off at the TEAC monitor. That bypasses my EQ and allows me to hear the sound as tailored by my Kenwood radio. That feeds a nice set of speakers that are Realistic from Radio Shack (back when they actually made products). The other output from the TEAC is delivered to the T10 via my Numark EQ2100. The balance of BASS and TREBLE is controlled at the TEAC 2A mixer board.
   So what this allows me to do is tailor the incoming audio from the Kenwood and adjust according to conditions. Let me offer an example. If there is a 1000 cycle beat signal on the received frequency, I simple back down on the 1000 cycle gain at the EQ. This renders subtle control over the frequency "audio band-pass" I am passing through my receiver. It works like a most all bandpass filters but it offers level control that is not available at the receiver. The TS-590 has a great EQ built into the ARCP, but like so many of the "fancy" radios, it is not real-time. So the adjustment must be done through the menu. That is fine by me, and because I may want a tighter control, this is my way of working with an EQ.
   Listen to me when I tell you that you are wasting power and "voice expression" when you open up that radio beyond 3KHz. You probably sit there and scratch your head, but follow along here. I want you to download a program. I have the link listed here...SOUNDCARD OSCILLOSCOPE (click here). Ok download and install version scope V1.41 from the website. I suggest you choose the English Version. This is not freeware but for private users such as "yourself" it is free to use. Well you are an Amateur, am I correct in that assumption? Good! Now lets us look at the program for just a minute. When you first start the program there is an unusual disclaimer, click on "continue". The program will open up to reveal various controls that represent of all things, an oscilloscope. If you are connected to your sound card via the "line Input" you will have to make one setting. Click on "Settings" tab and set the "input" for "Blue" connector, unless you have an external E-MU running on your USB port; if so it will show up in your "input" listing.
This is a CW signal in the scope window   Now your "scope" should be active and a noise pattern should be visible on the "Oscilloscope" screen. The next stage is important. Click on the "Frequency" tab and note the 0-2000 Hz range across the bottom of the scale. Slide the ZOOM button halfway. Now position the slider, a bar to the right and below the upper end of the scale...slide it all the way to the left...you should see the scale collapse to about 1000 cycles. Now slide the ZOOM again (to the left) until you see 0 to +/- 3000 cycles. This represents your receiver BANDPASS. What your radio hears will appear inside this BANDPASS. If you set your receiver to 7125 KHz (remain in SSB) and you spot a CW signal it will appear inside that 3KHz BANDPASS as long as it is below (LSB) or above (USB) the center frequency set on your receiver. You can adjust the receiver and watch the signal as it ,moves across the BANDPASS. Now, set your receiver to CW mode...did you notice the BANDPASS decrease dramatically? You should because you are only receiving 500 cycles or so. Go ahead, advance the ZOOM to about 3/4 to the right. Adjust the slider so that you see 0-500 cycles. You are looking at the receiver BANDPASS. Any adjustment you make to narrow that BANDPASS will be displayed on your computer screen. Now look at the pattern...is it clean, is there a chirp, is there any AC hum or RF legible there...do the same with PSK-31 and of course SSB. Have some fun for a change.
This is 2 CW signals @ 50 - 500 cycles filter.   But get the point, while you read this...I want you to tune to one of those ESSB operators. You know the "wide as hell and he ain't gonna turn it down no more" dudes that thinks he can sound like a HI-FI SSB or AM signal without a carrier. No this is not DSB, it is ESSB and it sucks. This mentality is all horseshit! Look at your filter, is your SSB filter in 2.4 or 2.8 or 3.0 if you have one? Now set the SOUNDCARD SCOPE to display 0-5KHz wide. Tell me how much of that 5 or 6 KHz wide "jackass" are you seeing on the scope? Well Bunky, if your filter is 2.8 KHz and he is playing at 5 KHz, you are only hearing a little more than half his audio and half his signal level as well. I hope this gets your attention because you soon realize that your receiver has a lot more to do with the other guys audio than he does. And, you begin to realize that "pinching" up the filters can render a nice attractive "YL" voice into "Minnnie Mouse". It will also make Walter Cronkite sound like "Goofy".
This is ESSB inside 50 to 2800 on the TS-590.   The images here are actual screens captured using the program. See the RUN/STOP button located in the lower left corner of the window. With some audio in the display, click this button. Now click the "save" button in the upper right corner of the scope display. Choose a name and save. You will have two .JPG images saved, one will be color and one will be B/W. You can send these to friends, or guys you think sound terrible. Give them a subtle hint. If you notice the image to the left, there is nothing between 500 and 1200...the intelligence is gone. The cut-off range of the SCOPE goes well beyond 2.8 KHz, because I have the TS-590 set to 3400 and this guy is blowing a lot of audio above 2857...it is wasted to most any average operator with a 2.6 or 2.8 KHz filter. Look at his peaks around 200 cycles. That is "BOOM-BOOM" if there ever was any and no human voice (outside Barry White) will produce that level in their God given voice on a Amateur Radio transceiver.
   There are a lot of great features in this program. You can indeed setup your microphone EQ using this application. Set the scope to see 2.8 KHz and pattern your audio to cover as much of the spectrum as possible, but leave room at the bottom and the top...somewhere around 100 cycles to 2.6 or 2.7. Most filters in receivers can be sloped tuned, but you are trying to make communication, so why split hairs with too much audio below 1500 and no intelligence above? Set your EQ to compensate for DX and RAG CHEW. Remember, you don't know what that guy in Lostapoopa (very rare) is using for a receiver. So, you must deliver the most usable signal you can, and then you hope his filters are happily listening at 2.4 or less. It is about time to get smart and EQ the TX and the RX to improve the audio inside 3KHz. Forget the "wide crap" those ego-maniacs are running. Besides, you are courteous and considerate...right(?)...you use a dummy load and you listen first ...right(?)...yeah "good luck in the contest". 

6/24/13 ~ I have added a new link to the review. I was looking around for information on updates for the ARCP and I came across this site. There is a wealth of information here...some I have covered and much that I have not. Take a look at The W1AEX 590 Resource (here). The page offers some "general observations" regarding the 590 and goes into some great detail regarding the visual band-scan and the audio device functions. It is interesting how he renders and details his audio settings. He also takes advantage of Excel spreadsheet applications and the TS-590.
Note: I still endorse and recommend the use of Christian Zeitnitz Soundcard Oscilloscope.
This application makes a great tool for adjusting your transmit audio. It has a audio spectrum display and filtering that will help dramatically with your microphone setup. The program is "free to use" and can be found (here).

3/10/14 ~ This will probably be my last entry on this page. After all I am 71 years old and my opinion is better left to myself. I am in the winter of my days and I am going to do the best to enjoy what time on the radio I have left here.
There are a lot of resource pages on the Internet that relates to more than one radio. The TS-590S is just another one of them. Everyday some new (How new can these damn things be?) radio comes on the market. It claims to be so much better than the rest (or its previous model). Perfect example...the newest FLEX radio that everyone awaited, only to find out, after a year, the damn thing is no better than the previous model!!! This happens when a manufacturer gets greedy and egotistical about the products they release. Making a better mouse trap took almost 5000 years (but the original still works). What is obvious to me is the number of used radios that are "not" selling. The price for twenty year old transceiver has gone UP, not DOWN. This works like increasing minimum wage. Sooner or later there is little value between USED and NEW. You can only ask so much for a radio. Losing 30% on a 1500 dollar investment does not hurt as much as losing it on a 10,000 dollar layout of cash. Why is it every time Icom brings out a new radio, the previous model drops by 30% in value? Who can afford to lose 3000 dollars every six months?
The happy operator is the guy who makes his hobby work for him. What fun is it if all you do is "play radio" at the expense of your credit card?
My TS-590S will be the last "new" radio I own. I possess three of the best Kenwood radios they ever offered. The TS-180S was an experiment that brought us to the TS-950SDX...I don't own a 950 or a 990 if that matters, but the 590 receiver was incorporated into the 990; as was the 950 receiver incorporated into the TS-450S. So my 180, 450 and 590 will be my final legacy. Those radios and the rest of my junk will be scattered all over God's earth after I am gone...and frankly...I will not have a thought in my mind to care!
  My 590 has allowed me to join in, every night, with a few very well chosen friends. The investment was worth it, not for the sake of the radio, but for the friendship I have managed to maintain over my time on earth...all that, simply because I could hear them!


Thanks...W3GAS

exit